Louis & Audrey Stamey were a guitar duo from Drexel, North Carolina that recorded a handful of rockabilly-tinged singles and two LP’s at Mark V Studios in the 1960’s. They cut three singles and an LP for Greenville’s Klub records, as well as a single and an LP for their own Cherokee label. The sobriquet, “The Cherokee Sweethearts,” (or, sometimes “The Carolina Cherokee Sweethearts) came about because they performed in Cherokee, North Carolina as part of the tourist environment there, rather than from an actual ethnic identity. There niece, author Julia Nunnally Duncan, has written an article which captures the milieu in which Louis & Audrey performed.

Mark V records also released two singles by a group called the Cherokee Three. While not confirmed, these Cherokee Three sides sound very much like the Louis & Audrey Stamey records with vocal accompaniment.  




  1. Home Sweet Home
  2. John Henry
  3. Just Because
  4. I Can’t Stop Loving You
  5. Lil’ Liza Jane
  6. Down Yonder
  7. The World Is Waiting For Sunrise
  8. Beautiful Ohio
  9. Kentucky
  10. Wildwood Flower
  11. Tennessee Waltz
  12. Marie
  1. There’s No Place Like Home
  2. John Henry
  3. Just Because
  4. I Can’t Stop Loving You
  5. Liza Jane
  6. Down Yonder
  7. Wildwood Flower
  8. How Great Thou Art
  9. Red Wing
  10. War Dance
  11. Cherokee Boogie
  12. Wabash Cannonball